Akron PRSA Announces Meeker Scholarship Winners

Ohio Northern University Senior Wins Meeker Scholarship. Two Runners-Up are from Mount Union University

Akron, OH--The Akron Area Chapter of the Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) awarded Ohio Northern University senior Adam Koncsol its David A. Meeker Scholarship. Koncsol carries a triple major and plans a future public relations career in nonprofit or public service. Koncsol will receive $1,500 and a first-year professional membership in PRSA upon graduation, paid for by the Akron Chapter of PRSA.

The Meeker Scholarship is given annually in the name of the late David Meeker, a five-time recipient of PRSA’s most prestigious award, the Silver Anvil. Meeker was a long-time PRSA member, founding partner of Meeker-Young LLC, and retired executive vice president of Edward Howard & Company.

Koncsol is from Kinsman, Ohio. The Meeker Scholarship competition is open to any student who is from, or attends college in, Northeastern Ohio, and who is majoring in public relations or a closely allied communications field.

Koncsol said he plans to go on to graduate school to obtain a Masters of Public Affairs or Public Policy degree, which will enable him to better use his public relations education to work with policy and policymakers and pursue his passion for public service. His many extracurricular activities include serving as the director of Ohio Northern University’s student-led public relations firm, and volunteering with nonprofit organizations that work to offer hunger relief and prevent homelessness.

In addition to the overall Meeker Scholarship winner, the Meeker competition awards first-year professional PRSA memberships to two runners-up. This year’s second and third place winners are Mount Union University junior students Maggie Craig and Peyton Zamarelli.

Craig is studying Integrated Media Communications and Neuroscience. Zamarelli has a double major in public relations and music. Both young women are active in the leadership of their Public Relations Student Association Chapter (PRSSA) and many other extracurricular activities.

Maggie Craig, 2nd Place                                                                           Peyton Zamarelli, 3rd Place